“Why A Man Should Be Well-Dressed”


I’m back from the working holiday in south of Europe, where I was wearing t-shirts untill 2 weeks ago due to the 30 C weather. Then suddenly it became winter and just as the first snow arrived, I hopped the plane that took me back home.

One of the books I read in my time away from home was Adolf Loos’ Why A Man Should Be Well-Dressed. Adolf Loos was an architect and a strong opposer of the ornamental Art Deco movement at the time. This small book was written around the turn of the century Vienna, and it’s very telling of those times in history. Nonetheless, his view of the uniform dressing as opposed to ornamental dressing is very much relevant today and worth reading if you’re interested in such matters.

Leave a Reply

