Quintessential


This is basically how I dressed over the past weeks. Jeans and t-shirt. I actually have that exact striped shirt and it’s one of my most worn garments during the summer months. 

Late summer brought beautiful warm weather while usually leaving the awful humidity behind. It was around this time that my schedule got really hectic and I’m just now catching up on reading my favourite blogs and new issues of The Gentlewoman and Fantastic Man which dropped in the mailbox yesterday.

Lack of free time to overthink also made me pair down my summer attires down to the bare essentials. I lived in jeans and sneakers, pairing them with my favourite blue chambray shirt or oversized t-shirts (striped or plain white), occasionally wrapping myself up in an oversized dark grey cardigan. A canvas bag and some lip balm and was good to go.

Right now, as the weather is slowly transitioning towards autumn, I’m trying to hold on to the simplicity of my summer wardrobe, by reluctantly adding only the most basic of fall garments. I realize this may seem plain and boring, and perhaps it is.  To me personally however,  it’s also a small triumph in reducing all the unnecessary visual noise tot the simplest basic shapes that nonetheless feel decidedly personal.

(images via emilyafricaa and neuewave tumblr)

Leave a Reply

