The Language of Flowers


(images via i-n-j-e-c-t tumblr and jazzmine berger by garance doré)

Garance Doré posted this picture (right) from her archives some time ago, because it felt very current despite being several years old. The clean, tomboyish items offset the exuberant femininity of the flowers. Indeed, it evokes a very modern kind of romanticism, where it’s all about finding the balance between contradictions in one look.

I personally love a good print and the idea of a minimalist romantic. When employed all-over, the print becomes almost as monochrome as a solid colour. It’s also a very photogenic look, even if not entirely easy to pull off in everyday life.

I’m still not sure if I could see myself wearing floral pants, though this image below of Gaia Repossi is certainly making me reconsider that idea. The floral print something that could easily be introduced into my existing wardrobe for a modern update on the classic trousers, shirt and blazer combination. The all-over print, as much as I like the idea, is probably somewhat too trendy which means it won’t age too well. I have also yet to find the print that makes my heart beat faster, so this just might be one of those infatuations that I’ll grow out of, if I don’t find the right item. As of now though, I’m not ready to stop looking for that perfect floral piece anytime soon.


(image via maison styling)

2 thoughts on “The Language of Flowers

  1. I’ve been pretty enamored with floral print lately as well, and tried to think of whether or not I could bring myself to wear a pair of floral pants. Turns out I couldn’t, but ended up going with a pair floral shorts. They felt like the same effect of wearing the print on the bottom half of my body without feeling overwhelming. They’ve actually turned out to be extremely versatile and its neutral colors are not so “look at me” that I’ll cringe when seeing pictures of myself years from now. So maybe shorts would be a good alternative if pants still seem a bit much?

Leave a Reply

