Honey Skin

Summers in the Netherlands are usually disappointing. Currently it’s hot, humid and cloudy. It’s also one of the most difficult types of weather for wardrobe planning because it’s so unpredictable. You cannot wear the layers because of the humidity, but after the rain it becomes slightly chilly, so it’s a good idea to always have a something warmer than  cotton t-shirt with you. It’s also not ideal for the skin because the humidity usually makes mine more oily than usual and swimming and the following increased frequency of showers ends up drying out the skin.

One of the great things about the summer though, is that the skincare brands often release travel-sized versions of their favourite products. For some reason I love small product packages (could be because I have so many regular-size packages that I never end up finishing before I move on to the next skincare product – a habit I’m currently trying to control because it causes clutter and it’s unnecessarily wasteful).

I recently purchased this “Head-to-Toe” kit by Burt’s Bees. I love this brand. I often use their shimmer lip balms instead of lipgloss and their Thoroughly Therapeutic Honey & Orange Wax Body Lotion is one of my all-time favourites (I actually finished the last bottle before purchasing it again). The mini-kit contains their Milk & Honey lotion which I’m curious to try out, as well as things like cleansing cream and shampoo. 

By the way, have you seen this video by Isabella Rosselini for Burt’s Bees? It’s a typical Isabella mix of bizarre and endearing at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Honey Skin

Leave a Reply

