Timeless

On a personal note: life has been all sorts of busy lately. I am currently working on a freelance assignment for a company which could turn out into a permanent full-time position. Careerwise this would be a great opportunity and I’m hoping it works out. On the other hand, I would certainly miss the flexible working hours that life as a freelancer offers. For example chosing to take the long lunch and enjoy the weather and compensating for time off by working in the evenings. But I wouldnt miss the irreglular income and fretting over the next project. All in all there are positives and negatives to every outcome.

I did made me contemplate office wear and assembling the office appropriate wardrobes. I’m also thinking a lot about light blue and chambray, the summer versions of my usually navy wools and cashmeres. 

Empty Emptor recently made a post questioning the concept of “the classics” when it comes to wardrobe pieces, as propagated by the fashion magazines and blogs, as they could turn out to be just as trend-concious as peplums and beaded collars. It’s a really well-written piece and if you’re into it, I would also recommend her previous post on wardrobe culling, as well as… her entire archives.

I think when it comes to classics, it’s important to find your own personal classics. Staples that you can build your entire wardrobe around, and upgrade seasonally with a few pieces to keep evolving, but also to keep it from becoming schizophrenic in style.

These are some of my personal favourites, around which I base my outfits (I chose to just focus on tops here). They include simple button-down shirts, crewneck jumpers and breton tops. Most of my tops are a variation of these, which is why I’d call them classics. I usually pair them with smart jackets, jeans or cigarette pants and simple or slightly androgynous shoes.


(Images from left to right: By Malene Birger White Greville Classic Shirt, Hope Drape Tee, A.P.C. Merino Striped Pullover, Acne Ry Angora Sweater, A.P.C. Woven Cotton Shirt. Most of these are currently sold out via Net-A-Porter and La Garçonne. Top image via naturalstylist tumblr.)

6 thoughts on “Timeless

  1. Congratulations! A steady pay check is always welcome (whatever the potential pitfalls) – best of luck with that and hope everything falls into place for ya. And thanks for the link to EE, been checking out the archives and it’s all very thought-provoking stuff..

  2. Congratulations on the career opportunity. It sounds really exciting and it is something to celebrate in these times.

    I like the idea of finding timeless items that work for you.

Leave a Reply

