Frenzy

When it comes to shopping, I prefer working with lists. A couple of years ago I noticed girls on my favourite blogs doing this and thought I’d give it a try. Needless to say it has become something of a necessity since. Throughout the year I keep a wishlist with items from my favourite stores such as COS and A.P.C.

When the recent sales season came, however, instead of purchasing those items on my list that were now available for much less, I decided against it and ended up with just one purchase – a black spring coat, which I can say I have worn almost every day since (though I honestly do wish I didn’t have the need for a coat in july). Somehow the sales made me realise I didn’t really need another black top or linnen t-shirt. The amount of need simply didn’t justify the purchase. Plus the frenzy of the sales reminds me of everything that I dislike about shopping.

Subsequently, it felt liberating to let go of these self imposed needs which tend to sneak up on you when you’re not expecting and it made me realize how much more satisfying it is to let the desire for an item build up before deciding on the purchase. Which doesn’t mean indulging in impulse buys from now and then can’t be fun, but you do risk ending up with a full closet of things you don’t wear down the line, and who needs regrets anyway? Even if they are just the sartorial kind.

(image: Lina Scheynius Polaroids)

2 thoughts on “Frenzy

  1. It’s such a good feeling to buy something and get full use out of it. I have been whittling down my closet and while I still have some way to go, it feels really good to see my closet shrink.

  2. Pingback: That coat « 22/8

Leave a Reply

