Skincare


(image of Kim Noorda by Viktor Vauthier)

I never used to care much about skincare, other than face wash and moisturizer. A couple of years ago, however, I was under a lot of stress and my skin became very sensitive. This incident made me more aware of importance of proper skincare. I started paying more attention to my eating habits and how they reflect on my skin.

After cutting back on sugar and developing a habit of drinking enough water (as well as green tea, fresh mint and nettle), I also found the perfect products which have since become a part of my skincare routine. With Kiehl’s Ultra Facial cleanser and toner I immediately noticed the difference as my skin tone and texture improved and started to feel more comfortable. I also began using their Abyssine + eye cream, after receiving a sample with my first purchase. What I really love, aside from the obvious quality of product, is their simple and straightforward look. Nothing fussy or overly girly (which would look out of place in my bathroom).

For moisturizing I use Dr Van Der Hoog’s Hypo-allergenic Cream, which is very mild and once a week I use their soft Purity scrub creme as well. As far as body lotions go, my favourite is Burt’s Bees lotions, especially Thoroughly Therapeutic Honey & Orange Wax, which is a perfect fit considering my penchant for soft citrussy smells.

What do you use?


PS; I love this picture of Kim Noorda because it reminds me there is almost nothing better then curling up between fresh cotton sheets and getting a good night’s sleep.

4 thoughts on “Skincare

Leave a Reply

